Skip to content

5 & Dime: Christmas Songs

December 19, 2009

It’s a not-so-little-known fact that I love me some Christmas music and tote quite a collection around with me on my iPod from Thanksgiving until sometime during the first week of January.

While I quite enjoy a little Nat, Bing and “Greensleeves,” I most thoroughly revel in offbeat, soul and sundry modern day Christmas jams. Case in point:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Here’s some free tracks I that I added to my tinfoil Christmas collection this morning:

NPR's Christmas mix includes these guys

I’ll start with Amazon, which has been rolling out a track each day since the start of December. Those tracks suck, but I found some other freebies floating around that are actually cool.

I like J.D. McDonald’s funky “Boogaloo Santa Claus,” Mogwai’s mellow “Christmas Song,” and “Why Can’t It Be Christmastime All Year” from Rosie Thomas.

Stereogum posted an excellent collection of tunes, including “Worst Noel” by AM Taxi, Nellie McKay’s excellent take on “The Christmas Waltz,” and a great version of “Last Christmas” by Findlay Brown.

I was particularly attracted to “Let It Snow” performed on a saw and Sean Bones’ reggae jam, “If You Hear a Knock.”

Finally, you can never go wrong with the annual All Songs Considered Christmas mix. In the five years I’ve been listening to this NPR podcast, I have never been disappointed.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays, kids. Take it easy on the nog.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 5:48 am

    Christian Music is just very soothing to the ear and i feel uplifted when i hear about it ..

Leave a Reply

