Skip to content

X rating

October 12, 2009

Just like that, you’re 10 years older, new music is 10 times as hard to follow and your favorite band sucks. It’s time to memorialize.

Take those plastic discs from off the shelves, out the moving boxes or inside the binders. Unless you ripped all your shit illegally following the great Napster craze of ’99, pull the tiny booklets from their plastic shells, flip through the glossy pages and start ranking the rhythms.

Old School

Old School

This is going to take a while. I’ve prioritized decades before, but not a 10-year span that I’ve been completely musically conscience for. In 1990 I was listening to MC Hammer and Debbie Gibson, for Christ’s sake.

I’m challenging myself and the site’s other contributors to narrow a list that could easily contain hundreds of those little silver Frisbees into a top 20. I don’t even know where to begin, but I have been snooping around Pitchfork’s Top 200 and noting some forgotten favorites that will need revisiting.

There will be plenty of others as 2010 draws closer and I’ll probably be posting a lot of reactions here. In the meantime, I’ll begin the annual ritual of relistening, rebuking and relishing — times 10.

How will you create your best-of-the-decade list?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

