Skip to content

The podless podcast

May 25, 2009

Like most folks, I own an iPod. Like most folks who like music, it’s attached to my hip most of the time. Well, in this instance, it was in my pocket. When I slipped into the chilly waters of Middle Saranac, I was pissed and she was gone.


Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "untitled", posted with vodpod


Luckily, the camping mix responsible for bringing the iPod along for the annual journey – my SuperSpecialCampingPlaylist – lives on a computer in the dry confines of my home.

Here’s the first handful of songs from the ill-fated collection.
Do you listen to songs ’round the campfire? What’s your “tent rock” preference?

1)    Rodrigo Y Gabriela – Tamacun
(Also recommended: Diablo Roja)

2)    Or The Whale – Call and Response

3)    Neko Case — Deep Red Bells

4)    Pearl Jam – Off He Goes

5)    Rocky Votolato – White Daisy Passing
(Also recommended: Portland Is Leaving)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kyle permalink
    May 26, 2009 2:32 pm

    I just don’t get the fuss about Neko Case. Yeah, great, lady folkster, that’s wonderful. Always in support of that. But people freak out about Neko Case, speaking as though she were a Great Power.

    Just like Cat Power. What gives? Am I missing somethign? I don’t see anything extraordinary in Cat Power. Mention her in mixed company, though, and, “Oh, my God, I love Cat Power!”

    Stripped-down Rocky Votolato = stripped-down Dashboard Confessional. He began getting away from that on Makers but if you’ve heard Suicide Medicine, you know exactly what I mean. Search your feelings: you know it to be true. “Brag and Cuss” is his best. Rocky Votolato’s songs sound best backed by the bluesy/country-sy sounds compiled therein.

  2. May 28, 2009 10:57 pm

    Neko Case is definitely not the Great One. She is, however, a pretty damn good one. All the fuss is probably over her striking pipes and poetry.

    She taps rootsy rhythms to convey various tales of man and beast. What’s not to love about that? I appreciate the mirage of simplicity in her compositions and brutal honesty in her voice and thoughts.

    So, yeah, I guess there’s a lot to fuss about.

    You’re not missing anything with Cat Power, though: L-A-M-E. Poor poor man’s Liz Phair (the Exile one, not the hot mom one). Remember that honesty I value? Chan Marshall ain’t got it. In fact, my one-line diagnosis: She tries too hard. And for what? Lukewarm coffeehouse caterwauling, it is. Blech.

    If Rocky V has ever sounded like Dashboard Confessional, we will have to forgive those transgressions. As you know, “White Daisy” is a Makers cut and, I might add, very similar to a majority of Brag. Can’t we just agree both albums are splendid?

  3. Kyle permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:15 pm

    I hope I outlive you just so I can switch out your tombstone for one reading, “DIED FOR DISAGREEMENT WITH GENTLEMAN/SCHOLAR BEST FRIEND, KYLE TOROK. LIEBS WAS WRONG ABOUT EVERYTHING INCLUDING THE AFTERLIFE AND ESPECIALLY FROZEN CUSTARD.”

Leave a Reply

